Eric Demarsan

Le Cercle Rouge (The Red Circle)

Eric Demarsan - Le Cercle Rouge (The Red Circle)

Official reissue of Eric Demarsan's original soundtrack of Jean-Pierre Melville's 1970 classic noir film The Red Circle. The film stars Alain Delon, Bourvil, Gian Maria Volontè, and Yves Montand. This reissue includes four bonus tracks, not available on previous pressings of the album. Eric Demarsan's compositions for The Red Circle draw from the orchestral spirit of the Modern Jazz Quartet (as requested by Melville Who loved John Lewis's work), abstraction, and minimalism to create a suspenseful and hypnotizing audio landscape that elegantly underlines the tense atmosphere of unavoidable fate that shrouds the movie and the doleful beauty of its characters. Simply put, it's the ultimate combination of underworld existentialism, coldblooded chic, and crime jazz. The Red Circle boasts the participation of jazz players Guy Pedersen (bass), Daniel Humair (drums), George Arvanitas (piano), and Bernard Lubat (vibraphone). Starting as a collaborator of François de Roubaix and Michel Magnein the '60s, Eric Demarsan went on to become a mainstay of French cinema soundtracks, composing for directors such as Jean- Pierre Mocky, Costa-Gavras, and Patrice Leconte, among others. He also recorded the cult Pop Symphony album (for Pierre Cardin in 1970) under the pseudonym Jason Havelock. Includes four bonus tracks.

LP We Release Whatever The Fuck We Want Records: WRJ003LTD € 28,99